RSS Feed

chocolate cutout cookies

Posted on

October means apple season, Halloween and the World Series!  I originally planned on baking cookies to celebrate the Texas Rangers winning the World Series, but sadly, they lost to the Cardinals in Game 7.  I’m still pretty heartbroken over it, but luckily, I can always count on baking to cheer me up.  Even when it’s snowing outside, I mean really snowing (in October!?).

Note that this was supposed to be posted on Monday, October 31st…  I had the cookies made and pictures taken.  However, if you know me, it seems appropriate that I somehow made it possible for me to be “late” with my first blog post.  If I hadn’t made Halloween cookies it wouldn’t be so obvious that it’s late.  But I did.  And there is no hiding it…  Happy Belated Halloween!

6
6
6
6
10

This cookie dough tastes like brownie batter.  MMmmmmm!  … yes I ate some of the dough.  You have to do that to make sure your cookies are going to taste good.

Isn’t that what all the professionals do?

As long as your mom (or older sister) doesn’t catch you doing it, it’s okay you can eat some of the dough.  You should at least try a little, tiny piece of it.

When I use my Halloween cookie cutters, I prefer making the chocolate cutout cookies over traditional sugar cutouts.

I guess because Halloween is dark and scary… and for me dark translates to chocolatey things…  I dunno.  :) Also! this dough is better for making bats and cats… you don’t even have to ice them.. they’re already black(ish)!

These cookies are soft, chocolatey and delicious.

Enjoy with a nice cold glass of milk!

Chocolate Cutout Cookies

adapted from Allrecipes.com

1 ½ cups flour

¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 ¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon cinnamon

¾ cups unsalted butter, softened

1 ¼ cups granulated sugar

1 large egg

½ teaspoon vanilla

  1. Stir together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon; set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together until smooth.  Add the egg and vanilla; beat until well combined.
  3. Gradually stir dry ingredients into creamed mixture; mix well.  The dough may seem dry and be a little tough to stir—this is where you get your arm workout in!
  4. Divide dough in half, wrap in wax paper or plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours.
  5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  6. Remove dough from fridge.*  On a lightly floured surface (I used cocoa powder instead of flour), roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thick.  Add more flour (or cocoa)** as needed to prevent dough from sticking.
  7. Using cookies cutters, cut into desired shapes.  Brush excess flour (or cocoa) off the cookies.  Place cookies on baking sheets lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat.  The cookies won’t spread much during baking so don’t worry about leaving a lot of space in between the cookies.
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before moving to wire rack to finish cooling.
  9. Decorate as desired!  I used a basic sugar cookie icing and sprinkles.  They also look pretty with powdered sugar sprinkled over them.  Store cookies in an airtight container to keep them soft.  If you have a problem with the cookies getting hard, add a slice of bread to the container and it will soften them up.  :D

*When you take the dough out of the fridge, you may have to knead it (just a little bit) in order to make it more pliable for rolling.  Don’t play with the dough too long or it will warm up and stick to everything.

**Be careful not to add too much flour or cocoa powder—that will make your dough dry and crumbly.  I mix in a little of the unused dough each time I roll out the dough—helps prevent dough from becoming dry.

One response »

  1. Not only are your pictures beautiful, but these cookies kick ass! Congrats on your first post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

